Week 1 Reflection #seaccr

After reading many blogs, I have decided that we all have the same idea about what action research means.  Most importantly, we agree that it is the most beneficial research done by teachers because it deals with the problems from their classroom with their students.  I have come to realize that action research is an ongoing research project.  You will not necessarily solve all of your problems at first.  You analyze your data and adjust your approach.  You do this as many times as it takes to achieve success in your classroom.

I am excited about conducting this research project.  However, I am still undecided about what I want to study.  I am pretty sure it will do with problem-solving as that is what my math students struggle at the most.  I am trying to figure out how to go about conducting the research.  I plan to spend much of my time this upcoming week reviewing other action research projects done by math teachers.  I hope that by the end of this week I will have something more concrete to share with you all.

Thank you to all of my fellow educators for your great ideas.

One thought on “Week 1 Reflection #seaccr

  1. Carrollea Hubbard

    Brandi,
    Good reflection. I agree with your comment about not necessarily solving all your problems at first. Unfortunately, I find the early waking hours of the day are preoccupied with an ongoing resolution to the problems the action research is aimed at solving. I’m not satisfied with “good enough.” I must find the way to the best possible solution. You are correct. It is a matter of repetition until success has been achieved. I am worried about how many times I am going to repeat the process. The learners to have an input into this equation. It is up to educator and those seeking education. I think I am going to rely on peer pressure for the students that do not want to get onboard at first. This is only a sideline strategy. Multiple contingency plans must be in place. It is a frustrating process for me as an inexperienced educator.

    I understand your dilemma with the problem-solving process. How about asking the students for help. I did. I have received one response so far. I will encourage responses from the other students in person. I think the email questionnaire scared them

    Great job on your reflection blog,

    Carrollea

    Reply

Leave a Reply

