Week 3 Reflection #seaccr

What new resources, curated resources, or ideas did you share this week?
 
Of the blogs that I reviewed, many of my peers had many great resources.  I find it hard to add resources because I am not the type of teacher that spends a lot of time researching other materials.  I usually hear about great things from fellow teachers and then look into them.  Collaboration is key for me in my teaching career.  However, I usually have some ideas, thoughts, or recommendations that my help my fellow students in this class.
 
This week I shared a link with Lexie on helping gifted students in the regular classroom.  I have to admit that I am bad at differentiating instruction for my smarter students – and I feel bad.  Therefore, I have looked into how I can help these students.  I do not want them to feel like their talents are being wasted.
 
This week my statistics class attended a webinar with Dave Burgess, author of “Teach Like a Pirate.”  It was a great seminar.  Shauna’s active research project is on using literature in mathematics.  She also attended the webinar and I reminded her of Dave’s comment on finding things that your students love and using that to help guide your instruction.  I think books are something that many young children love and using math literature to introduce or guide a math lesson is a great idea.
 
Jamie’s active research question deals with non-native teachers learning to communicate with their native-speaking students.  I mentioned to her that I teach Yup’ik eskimo students and I find that my greatest resource for how to communicate with my students is the Yup’ik speaking staff at my school.  They are always willing to talk to me about what I can or should not say in the classroom regarding the culture of my students.
 
What did you intend these new resources, curated resources, or ideas to do in terms of impacting others’ learning?
 
I think these resources or comments will be beneficial to my peers.  I am sure that some of these same thoughts have occurred to them already, but sometimes things are forgotten or overlooked.  Lexie seemed really excited about the link that I shared with her and I hope that it will enhance her active research project.  i would hope that most of all, my peers realize that some of the best resources are other teachers in your school or district.
What was the actual impact (that you could discern)?
 
Like I stated earlier, Lexie was thankful of the link that I shared with her.  She is the only person who replied to my comment.  However, I am certain that both Shauna and Jamie were grateful for my comments.  We have been sharing comments on each others’ blogs for a few weeks now.
What would you do differently next week?
 
This week I felt so bogged down with other work responsibilities that I feel I put off my annotated bibliography until the last minute.  I realized Friday evening that this was a huge mistake.  I feel that my bibliography, though complete, was somehow not up to par.  I definitely spent a lot more time reviewing the literature when preparing my Literature Review.  I think it was much more composed and organized.  I hope that others like it.
What resources did others share that made a difference to your learning?
 
Jamie shared a great article with me that addresses Alaska Native and American Indian students learning style and specifically addresses the teaching of mathematics.  She also gave me recommendations for helping my ELL students that she heard from other teachers throughout her teaching career.  Awesome strategies!!
 
Lexie gave me some links to some books and articles that I have yet to view, but I am thankful.
 
One review of my annotated bibliography was from someone I do not recognize and they made me think about my active research question.  She feels that no matter what strategies I use, my ELL students will learn regardless of their limited English proficiency.  She feels that math is a universal language.  I understand the comment and agree to an extent.  However, I think some concepts (such as problem-solving) use lots of academic vocabulary that is sometimes difficult for my students to understand.  They get the numbers, but I feel that using some dual language strategies will benefit my students understanding of the wording being used.
 
3 thoughts on “Week 3 Reflection #seaccr

  1. aksharos

    Brandi,
    I appreciate all your input!!! I am also in the same boat with making sure I reach all my high kids. I need to work on challenging them.

    Reply
    1. bsportie Post author

      Yes. We were supposed to post the annotated bibliography on Friday. The Literature Review was due today, Sunday. I think the Week 3 Reflection and Literature Review blogs were supposed to go to LiveText.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

