The Final Stages #etlead

This week, our team worked on finalizing our game presentation. With the outline completed, it was easy to design the presentation. Gary is our go-to-guy for our presentation, which puts me at ease. I have had many classes with Gary and completely trust him with such a task. Of course, for Gary to get his job done, he is relying on us to get him pictures that he can use for the presentation. He is creating a sort of slide show of pictures through VoiceThread. He is adding music and commentary. The script he wrote was great. It came from our game introduction with a brief description of the game mechanics. As I posted last week, a couple of people in my group mentioned the anime style animation. I have found some youtube videos of hunger game animation trailers that some very creative people have put together.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vly4Ekhe9Ns

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xX1iR12h-dA

This is my idea of what our presentation might look like. Gary is going to send us the presentation once he has it complete, but before he turns it in. I am thinking it will be great and I am excited to see how it turned out.

I also hosted the twitter session this week. Scott was supposed to be my partner, but because of a death in his family, I flew solo. Scott left me with a list of questions to ask and I was grateful. I decided on opening the session with a couple of game trailers. I asked the participants to watch them and give their thoughts on what worked and what didn’t. Most people liked the music and felt that it really helped the entertainment value of the trailers. One of the trailers had a lot of commentary, and most folks felt that although it was informative, it was rather long and got boring towards the end. A couple of questions that created some good discussions were about the games themselves, and were part of Scott’s group. He asked whether we liked the games that we created and if we would use them in our classrooms. I thought this was a great question to ask. It brought up a good point about having some educational standards tied to the games. As part of our teacher rubric, a serious game should be tied to educational standards if teachers are going to use them in their classrooms.

I have to say that I am very happy with the game that my team has created. I worked really hard on creating standards for our game and showing how many of them were linked to the game throughout the game’s outline on our wiki. I would feel confident that the teachers in my school would use this game as a learning tool in their classrooms. Because our game is designed to reach multiple grade levels, I feel that it would be a great game for elementary students of all ages and learning abilities. For that reason alone, I really hope our game is strongly considered for the next stage.

Leave a Reply

